Testing the waters by jumping in on the deep end.

I’m a member of two awesome writing groups – Writers Voice, associated with the Wisconsin Writers Association, and the Wisconsin Romance Writers of America (Wausau Chapter). I can’t express enough how much these two groups have helped me and my writing.

Recently we’ve had a lot of discussion in both groups about self-publishing. Now, I’ve always planned to try and go the traditional route with my writing – get an agent and let them handle sales and whatnot so I can just ‘write.’ But I have been wondering lately if maybe I’m not missing the boat on this new dynamic in publishing. So, after an interesting discussion at my Wednesday evening Writers Voice meeting (Thanks Sherrill) I decided to look into Kindle Direct Publishing.

After playing around with it for less than a day I was suddenly at the point of…Wow, I could do this!! So I did it.

I am happy to announce that Swiftly Beats the Heart (formerly titled Cheetah and Zoom) will soon be available for purchase on Amazon.com. It’s still ‘under review’ and though they say this should only take 12 hours it has taken much longer than that. I will post a link here as soon as it goes up. I plan on doing the kdp select thing and put it up for free for 5 days, just as soon as I figure out how to do that.

Yeah, the cover is not the greatest, I made it in MS Draw, but I think it works well enough for a first attempt. I feel the story is solid and a lot of fun, so I hope you’ll pick it up and let me know what you think.

I still do plan on looking for a new agent, and pursuing the traditional route to publishing, but even us old guys need to keep our eyes on the future and for me, yesterday was a step in that direction.

Until next time,

Steve

Leave a Reply

