Lauren Linwood stops by A Writers Haven

Today I’m just going to kick back a bit and let author Lauren Linwood take over A writer’s Haven with a special guest blog about herself and her upcoming release, Music For My Soul.

Lauren, welcome.

Lauren Linwood - Garnier IMG_4199 4x5 web

Good morning, everyone! A huge thanks to Steven, my fellow Soul Mate Publishing author, for offering me an opportunity to guest blog on his site today.

I’m like so many of you out there. I fell in love with words and books at an early age, able to read before I started school. I went from Little Golden Books to Superman comic books to solving mysteries with Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys. I traveled the world from England to Greece to China, meeting everyone from Atticus Finch to Hannibal Lecter throughout the years as my reading tastes branched out to a variety of genres.

Biographies drew me in from the start. Reading about the lives of real people led to a passion for history and the people who created it. As an adult, I became a history teacher and tried to bring history to life for my students.

I have a passion for two eras – medieval times and the American West  – and these eras are where I place my characters in extraordinary circumstances, allowing their intense desire and yearning for one another to grow into a deep, abiding love against the backdrop of history.

Lauren Linwood - Music For My Soul Final Cover

My medieval historical romance, Music For My Soul, will debut in May. Here’s a short description:

As the third wife of an abusive French vineyard owner, Madeleine Bouchard hasn’t produced the expected heir after three years of marriage. Fearing he plans to kill her, she flees during a trip to England. Unable to make her way home, she joins a troupe of traveling mummers and reinvents herself as the only woman troubadour in the land, captivating audiences with both song and story.

Nobleman Garrett Montayne’s fascination with Madeleine causes him to pay the troupe to bypass their next stop in order to journey to his estate. Though he suspects Madeleine of being a thief with dark secrets, love blossoms between them under the magical moon of summer solstice.

But Madeleine’s past is about to catch up with her, as her husband is set to arrive to conduct business with Garrett. Madeleine determines to free herself from her loveless marriage and make a new life with Garrett, no matter what the cost.

It’s always fun to retreat into my writing world, which is far different from the Dallas suburb I live in now. I’m like a lot of people you meet – an avid reader, moviegoer, sports fan, and yoga enthusiast. The difference? I listen to those voices in my head and capture their stories on paper.

I’d love for you to follow me through social media. You can keep in contact with me through:

http://laurenlinwood.wordpress.com/

https://www.facebook.com/laurenlinwood

https://twitter.com/LaurenLinwood

 

Lauren, thank you so much for stopping by and guest blogging today.  I know we’re all looking forward to the May release of Music for my Soul.

3 thoughts on “Lauren Linwood stops by A Writers Haven

  1. LOL, Lauren, I went from Little Golden Books to Casper the Friendly Ghost and Wendy Witch comics. 🙂 I love your idea of a woman troubadour and having the courage to change her life. Good luck with your release next month!

Leave a Reply

