Romance Weekly – #LOVECHATWRITE

Love Write Chat

Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favorite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all….. About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride!

 
1. What ages are your characters?
Most of my characters I tend to set between 24 and 35, though I rarely give their exact age. For me that’s the time period that true love seems to blossom. Before that period feels more like puppy love to infatuation. After that it seems like it would be a ‘second chance at love’ or ‘40 year old virgin’ kind of book. I like to read and write about that first, deep, flush of true romance.
Of course in Son of Thunder, Jord was around 300 years old, but for a god, that places him in that same age group.

2. What special things or places inspire you to write?
My inspirations come from all over. Usually I start a story with a scene and work backward and forward from there. With Son of Thunder, I woke up one morning with the vision of a Norse god riding a motorcycle up the rainbow bridge to Asgaard. The Forsake Templar tumbled into my mind after watching a Discovery Channel documentary on the Knights Templar. I have a story on the backburner right now inspired by a YouTube Starcraft shoutcaster.
The seed can come from just about anywhere, then the story starts to grow, and I can’t stop it.

3. What is the one message you hope women will receive when they read your stories?
I try to write strong women. Women who don’t need a man to ‘complete’ them, but find that right guy who complements their style. I’ve had a lot of strong women influence my life, and if there’s one message I’d like women to get from my writing, it’s stay strong and confident. Believe in yourself.

I hear you out there. Yes, I have spies all over the interwebs. You’re wondering what the other authors of Romance Weekly answered. Start (or continue) the tour by visiting the wonderful Leslie Hachtel http://lesliehachtelwriter.wordpress.com
(Go ahead. Click it. You know you want to.)

9 thoughts on “Romance Weekly – #LOVECHATWRITE

  1. Love, love, love the vision you got for the son of Thunder. And no, it has nothing to do with the fact that for my husband’s 40th birthday, I sent him anywhere he wanted to go in the world and he chose Asgard Mountain in Baffin Island, Canada

  2. I love reading about strong women. They may be placed in difficult situations, and may fall in love when they aren’t supposed to, but it’s that backbone that makes them stand out. Great answers!

Leave a Reply

