Romance Weekly – #LOVECHATWRITE

Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favorite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all….. About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride!

AmyJarecki_BeautyandtheBarbarian200

If you found me via Amy Jarecki’s wonderful blog, or you’re just starting your Romance Weekly journey here, welcome. Some probing questions and fun answers lie ahead as you make the rounds.

Collette Cameron cover  Collette Cameron is the author of this week’s questions:

1. How do you respond to someone calling your writing smut or demeaning your work in some other way?

My initial response if visceral, and the compulsion is to jump in and defend my work, and romance in general. But I can usually hold back and let logic take over. This is most likely someone who doesn’t read my work, and probably doesn’t read romance at all. So, while they are entitled to their opinion, it really doesn’t matter to me. Though there are times I feel some ‘education’ would benefit the speaker, so i do dive in.

2. When critiquing or beta reading, do you ever find the voice of the other author creeping into your writing?

No matter what I’m reading, be it beta or published story, I tend to tear the prose apart to see what’s working and what isn’t. I’m at a point where I’m still open to adding a new technique, idea or turn of phrase to my writing, if it will make my stories stronger. I don’t know if the voice leaks in, but I do know a well written piece tends to inspire me want to emulate it. So, when I’m deep into my storytelling, I usually don’t read very much, to keep my own voice consistent.

3. What’s one quirky thing you do or must have around you while writing?

I don’t know if it’s quirky, but I always have a glass of ice water handy. A few years ago I had a kidney stone. They say that passing a kidney stone is the closest thing a man can experience to childbirth. Holy $hit! You mothers have my complete sympathy. Anyway, the doctor told me to drink lots of water if I wanted to avoid getting another one, so I do.

 
I hear you out there. Yes, I have spies all over the interwebs. You’re wondering what the other authors of Romance Weekly answered. Start (or continue) the tour by visiting the wonderful Carolyn Spear at http://www.carolynspearromance.com/blog

Guarding his heart

 

22 thoughts on “Romance Weekly – #LOVECHATWRITE

  1. I tend to read my favorite authors when I’m writing first drafts so I have strong solid voices in my head. The influence is limited, because my voice tends to be so obnoxious, it generally overpowers anything else around it.

  2. Ha. I first read ice whiskey, not ice water. We were this ** close to being kindred spirits. 🙂 And I’m like you. Most of the ignorant comments come from people who don’t even read romance. I’m curious if you get even more push back because of your gender.

  3. Yes! By all means drink all the water! I have had kidney stones and I am so not good about my water 😦
    I’m with you. I try to keep my mind free and clear while I write.

    • It helps that I live in a city known for the great taste of it’s tap water. No need for filters or bottled water here, just ice and and straight-from-the-tap goodness.

  4. Ouch, Steve! I have a friend who’s had a kidney stone too and she drinks over a gallon of water a day – I will keep my fingers crossed for you! I don’t wish that on anyone, except maybe a few critics. 😀 JK JK. Maybe. LOVE!

Leave a Reply

