The day I predicted the future.

The 60’s television series, Star Trek, showed us a future with automatic sliding doors, cell phones, mobile medical devices and so much more. Science fiction has always been a good measure of the things we really want science to give us, and so many times science delivers.

 

iStock_000025084369Medium

 

In my latest novel, Hearts in Orbit: The Blarmling Dilemma (coming this winter from Soul Mate Publishing), I wanted to create a future world where women had attained equity in the universe. That meant I had to address birth control. Thus, I created (predicted) the Tyvar Process, a medical procedure that assured 100% birth control and was easily reversible when needed.

 

Today I stumbled across this: http://www.cnet.com/news/remote-controlled-chip-implant-could-be-the-future-of-contraceptives/

 

Now for sure, as my book is as yet unpublished, I can’t take credit for inspiring this, and I’m sure this is something many people have been envisioning for many years, but it wasn’t something I was aware of when I wrote the chapter. It makes me think I have to come up with something even more futuristic for the next book.

4 thoughts on “The day I predicted the future.

  1. No, you did not “predict.” You guessed based on some vague knowledge you might have. Coincidence! Prediction is NOT what the SF author does. Clarke might predict 5 things that came “true” but he also “predicted” 500 things which didn’t. So ultimately, your extrapolation might have been an intelligent one but we are not PKD’s prognosticating humans who “see” like omniscient beings into the future…

Leave a Reply

