Romance Weekly – #LOVECHATWRITE

Love Write ChatDo you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favorite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all….. About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride!

 

If you are joining me from Fiona Riplee’s site, or just starting your blog hop here, welcome.

themagicsparkcover

Today we feature another writer’s challenge, this time from Mishka Jenkins: ‘Time for a challenge! Write a love letter, 400 words or less that has to include the words ‘Sweet, Pumpkin, and Brush.’
Swiftly Half Cover3

 

For this challenge I’m going back to my first book, Swiftly Beats the Heart, and my hero Ryan (Speedster) writing home to Beth (Cheetah) from an extended mission battling the bad guys:

 

 

*****

Hey Pumpkin,

It’s been too long. Sleep comes hard (yeah, you took that right) each night I’m away from you. I miss so much the sweet brush of your lips against mine, the way your hair smells when we spoon, and the vibrant red I can raise in your cheeks with just a wink.

You’re blushing even now, as you read this, aren’t you?

They say absence makes the heart grow fonder, but that’s just not possible in this instance. My heart is completely yours, and absence only makes my heart ache. I count the days . . . hell, the minutes . . . until we can be together again.

I’d send you some flowers, but I know better. So I’m sending another Amazon gift card so you can load up on those trashy romance novels you seem to devour so voraciously. Do you think of me when you’re reading them, or are you off on an adventure with some Fabio type hero?

Not that I mind your book boyfriends. Well, okay, maybe I’m a bit jealous. They never seem to have to try at all to have those fabulous bodies, and incredible good looks. Sure, I can complete a half-hour workout in five minutes, but it’s still work. And they always have the right words, while I, hell, there just aren’t the right words to describe how perfect you are.

But, I digress.

I’m wrapping things up down here as fast as I can, and hope to be home sometime next week. I know, you’d think the fastest man in the world could move it along a little quicker, but the Mutant League hasn’t been making things easy for us.

How’d the doctor’s visit go yesterday? Has the morning sickness passed? I know you’d rather be here in the field with me, but you know that won’t be possible for another few months. You’ve got a more important mission on your hands, well, in your womb.

God, I’m going to be a father. That still hasn’t really sunk in. I love you so much.

Take care, and write when you can.

Love,

Ryan

*****

Hmmm, maybe there is a sequel in my future.

In any case, jump to Victoria Barbour’s blog and see what she wrote. She’s one of the amazing authors in the Passionate Kisses collection:

static.squarespace.com

12 thoughts on “Romance Weekly – #LOVECHATWRITE

Leave a Reply

