About scmitchell

Author, World Builder. Adventure in Fantastic Worlds

A Cover Reveal and a Heavenly Deal.

Hi readers,

As I mentioned last time, my Hearts in Orbit series is going away. I’ve received my rights back on the three books, and I’m busy doing a rewrite to fit these titles into my new Destiny Universe. The first book, The Blarmling Dilemma, will be releasing soon and today I’d like to share the new cover with you.

I can’t wait to share these new editions with you all.

These books will be under a new series name, Destiny’s Legacy, as they occur one hundred years after my current Destiny series.

If you aren’t caught up on the Destiny series, you can pick up book 1, Destiny: Cloud Fist in Kindle ebook or paperback. It’s also available on Kindle Vella and free to read on Kindle Unlimited.

Amazon: https://books2read.com/u/47Q25L

Kindle Vella: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B095XKSZ6Q

And Book 2, Destiny: Morning Star is currently posting, one chapter per week, on Kindle Vella at: https://www.amazon.com/Destiny-Season-2-Morning-Star/dp/B0B119JKGR/

***

Also, I’ve joined with some great fantasy and paranormal authors in a Celebrate Freedom Book Sale, July 1st – 8th all for just 99¢ each. My book, Son of Thunder is featured and now on sale.

Check out Son of Thunder and other great summer reads at:

https://books.bookfunnel.com/freedom2022sale/2rr2iniff0

Best Wishes and Happy Reading,

Steve

#Free for the Weekend

I’m happy to announce today that I’ve joined an amazing group of fantasy, sci-fi, and paranormal authors that will be offering select books for free this weekend. Three days only, so get your copies now, including my book, There’s No Such Thing As Werewolves:

There’s no such thing as werewolves…right?

Jack Hughes is cursed. Each full moon, he turns into a blood-crazed, hairy, wolf-headed creature. He’s learned to cope by locking himself in a cell each night to keep the creature from breaking free. It’s a dark secret he’s not willing to share with anyone. Then one moon-bright night, the creature inside him breaks free of its cell.

Sorceress Anna Brown is one of the leading experts on demons for the Arcanists. She knows Jack’s secret and how to help him…if he’ll let her. But the local demon lord is after Anna. She has a power he wants to control. Does she have enough magic to save Jack and keep the demons at bay?

There’s No Such Thing as Werewolves is book 1 of the Demon Gate Chronicles, a romantic urban fantasy series with demons, witches, ancient evil, and definitely NO werewolves…maybe.

Get this book and so many more free reads by going here: https://books.bookfunnel.com/firstinseriesfreefantasybooksale/4w9ysgtvi4

Best Wishes and Happy Reading,

Steve

Destiny: Cloud Fist update and cover reveal

Today I’m pleased to announce that my Kindle Vella story, Destiny: Cloud Fist will be coming to regular Kindle eBook and paperback formats. So if you’re not a Kindle Vella reader, and it appears there aren’t many of those, you will be able to read this story.

Destiny: Cloud Fist

A desperate exodus from Earth.

Indentured to the starship captain, young Michael ‘Kip’ Anders was his family’s only hope of fleeing Earth and its constant attacks from the Korg. But even four years out, the colony ship Cloud Fist is unable to escape the Korg’s firm grip on the galaxy. As factions form and unrest invades the ship, Kip finds his loyalties severely tested. Will the new colony fail before it even finds a planet to settle?

Destiny: Cloud Fist is the first book in a new series of space opera science fiction that will expand to include the stories I wrote in my Hearts in Orbit series.

Later this year I will be getting the rights back to Hearts in Orbit, and the books will be reworked, to fit into this new universe. Stay tuned to this space for more information as it unfolds.

Best Wishes,

Steve

New Cover Reveal

I’ve got a beautiful new cover for Amulet of the Fallen God!

Amulet of the Fallen God.

An epic fantasy set in a world of wizards, warriors, elves, and dragons.

When an ancient artifact falls into the hands of a young, inexperienced sorceress, Allsa, a battle-priestess of Thon, finds herself shepherding the young girl through a dangerous land, to find an ancient wizard from a tale she doesn’t even believe is true. Luckily, she has the help of a grumpy old dwarf, an obnoxious mercenary, an erudite elven wizard, and a new-wave minstrel.

Allsa can only wonder at the circumstances that made her the leader of this rag-tag band of adventurers. But the old human king is dead and the elven king is mad, and it’s up to her and her stalwart group to save the northlands from the impending Zarrum invasion.

Amulet of the Fallen God is an epic fantasy novel in the tradition of Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones.

Get your copy here: https://books2read.com/u/baneJv

(Free to red on Kindle Unlimited)

Update – Destiny: Cloud Fist

On Tuesday, I released the last few episodes of Destiny: Cloud Fist.

The story is complete, and all episodes are now up for reading on Kindle Vella.

You can read the first three episodes for free, and the rest for just a few pennies each. If you haven’t tried kindle Vella yet, check it out. (There’s a thumbs up button at the bottom of each episode and clicking on that really helps out the author.)

Check out Destiny Cloud Fist here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B095XKSZ6Q

And if you’re not into reading on Kindle Vella, stay tuned, the regular Kindle ebook and paperback versions will be coming out soon(ish)

Amulet of the Fallen God – Free

Alright, so I have this epic fantasy book (that will one day be part of a series, I promise). Because of some of my other projects, it came out with little fanfare and is riding way under the radar, so I’m hoping you all can help me out a bit.

And don’t worry, it won’t cost you a cent. For the next few days, the Kindle version of the book is free. It is also free to read anytime on Kindle Unlimited.

Here’s the book:

Amulet of the Fallen God

When an ancient artifact falls into the hands of a young, inexperienced sorceress, Allsa, a battle-priestess of Thon, finds herself shepherding the young girl through a dangerous land, to find an ancient wizard from a tale she doesn’t even believe is true. Luckily, she has the help of a grumpy old dwarf, an obnoxious mercenary, an erudite elven wizard, and a new-wave minstrel.

Allsa can only wonder at the circumstances that made her the leader of this rag-tag band of adventurers. But the old human king is dead and the elven king is mad, and it’s up to her and her stalwart group to save the northlands from the impending Zarrum invasion.

Amulet of the Fallen God is an epic fantasy novel in the tradition of Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones.

Get it here: https://books2read.com/u/baneJv

I would be so grateful if you would pick up a copy to help the Amazon algorithm gods take notice of it. And if you do read it, please give it an honest review. I’d love to hear what you think of it.

Thanks,

***

Also, are you reading on Kindle Vella yet? (It’s where all the cool kids read.) Check out an incredible collection of Vella science fiction and fantasy stories. Remember, the first 3 episodes are free to read. Find your next favorite author here: https://books.bookfunnel.com/novemberkindlevella/sotrt1kloh

Happy reading,

Steve

Destiny (Season 1) is complete.

Today I sent the last three episodes of Destiny (Season 1): Cloud Fist to my editor. The story is complete, and I’m quite happy with it.

There will be a new episode out tomorrow and every Wednesday from now on until the story is complete. If you’re a fan of Kindle Vella, check it out at: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B095XKSZ6Q

If Vella doesn’t fit your reading style, don’t despair, the story will be out in paperback and Kindle eBook format shortly after the end of the year. And it will be free to read on Kindle Unlimited.

Plus, coming soon will be Destiny (Season 2): Morning Star. These stories will for the basis of my new Destiny Universe where i will be placing the updated versions of my Hearts in Orbit series once I get the rights back from my publisher next summer. Look for Blarmlings, Backtechers, and Space Pirates as the universe expands. It’s kind of like having my own big bang.

Find your next adventure in a book,

Steve

Witches and Werewolves and Demons, Oh My!

Tis the season, and a perfect time to check out my Demons Gate Chronicles. I have recently repackaged the series, returning to its original titles and updating the covers, so if you already have Awakening, Alliance, and Annihilation, you have the series. The new (older) titles are There’s No Such Thing as Werewolves, The Forsaken Templar, and Seeds of Immortality. And they have some beautiful new covers.

Link to the series: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B074C9F59Q

If you haven’t picked up this set yet, now’s a great time to pick one up. The kindle version of There’s No Such Thing as Werewolves is just 99¢ now through Sunday.

Get it here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007KAE45A

And, as always, the series is free to read on Kindle Unlimited.

***

To celebrate the haunting season, I’ve partnered with a bunch of other great authors offering free and 99¢ spooky reads:

Check out some amazing stories at great prices here: https://books.bookfunnel.com/spookyseasonpromo/1h32315wo0

Happy Halloween!

Steve