Update – Destiny: Cloud Fist

On Tuesday, I released the last few episodes of Destiny: Cloud Fist.

The story is complete, and all episodes are now up for reading on Kindle Vella.

You can read the first three episodes for free, and the rest for just a few pennies each. If you haven’t tried kindle Vella yet, check it out. (There’s a thumbs up button at the bottom of each episode and clicking on that really helps out the author.)

Check out Destiny Cloud Fist here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B095XKSZ6Q

And if you’re not into reading on Kindle Vella, stay tuned, the regular Kindle ebook and paperback versions will be coming out soon(ish)

Amulet of the Fallen God – Free

Alright, so I have this epic fantasy book (that will one day be part of a series, I promise). Because of some of my other projects, it came out with little fanfare and is riding way under the radar, so I’m hoping you all can help me out a bit.

And don’t worry, it won’t cost you a cent. For the next few days, the Kindle version of the book is free. It is also free to read anytime on Kindle Unlimited.

Here’s the book:

Amulet of the Fallen God

When an ancient artifact falls into the hands of a young, inexperienced sorceress, Allsa, a battle-priestess of Thon, finds herself shepherding the young girl through a dangerous land, to find an ancient wizard from a tale she doesn’t even believe is true. Luckily, she has the help of a grumpy old dwarf, an obnoxious mercenary, an erudite elven wizard, and a new-wave minstrel.

Allsa can only wonder at the circumstances that made her the leader of this rag-tag band of adventurers. But the old human king is dead and the elven king is mad, and it’s up to her and her stalwart group to save the northlands from the impending Zarrum invasion.

Amulet of the Fallen God is an epic fantasy novel in the tradition of Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones.

Get it here: https://books2read.com/u/baneJv

I would be so grateful if you would pick up a copy to help the Amazon algorithm gods take notice of it. And if you do read it, please give it an honest review. I’d love to hear what you think of it.

Thanks,

***

Also, are you reading on Kindle Vella yet? (It’s where all the cool kids read.) Check out an incredible collection of Vella science fiction and fantasy stories. Remember, the first 3 episodes are free to read. Find your next favorite author here: https://books.bookfunnel.com/novemberkindlevella/sotrt1kloh

Happy reading,

Steve

Destiny (Season 1) is complete.

Today I sent the last three episodes of Destiny (Season 1): Cloud Fist to my editor. The story is complete, and I’m quite happy with it.

There will be a new episode out tomorrow and every Wednesday from now on until the story is complete. If you’re a fan of Kindle Vella, check it out at: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B095XKSZ6Q

If Vella doesn’t fit your reading style, don’t despair, the story will be out in paperback and Kindle eBook format shortly after the end of the year. And it will be free to read on Kindle Unlimited.

Plus, coming soon will be Destiny (Season 2): Morning Star. These stories will for the basis of my new Destiny Universe where i will be placing the updated versions of my Hearts in Orbit series once I get the rights back from my publisher next summer. Look for Blarmlings, Backtechers, and Space Pirates as the universe expands. It’s kind of like having my own big bang.

Find your next adventure in a book,

Steve

Witches and Werewolves and Demons, Oh My!

Tis the season, and a perfect time to check out my Demons Gate Chronicles. I have recently repackaged the series, returning to its original titles and updating the covers, so if you already have Awakening, Alliance, and Annihilation, you have the series. The new (older) titles are There’s No Such Thing as Werewolves, The Forsaken Templar, and Seeds of Immortality. And they have some beautiful new covers.

Link to the series: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B074C9F59Q

If you haven’t picked up this set yet, now’s a great time to pick one up. The kindle version of There’s No Such Thing as Werewolves is just 99¢ now through Sunday.

Get it here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007KAE45A

And, as always, the series is free to read on Kindle Unlimited.

***

To celebrate the haunting season, I’ve partnered with a bunch of other great authors offering free and 99¢ spooky reads:

Check out some amazing stories at great prices here: https://books.bookfunnel.com/spookyseasonpromo/1h32315wo0

Happy Halloween!

Steve

Kindle Vella and the new Destiny Universe

It’s Wednesday, and that means it’s time for a new episode of Destiny: Cloud Fist. Episode 26: Battleship Siege just went live and the story is starting to wind to a close. There are still a few things Michael needs to accomplish, and the story will probably span forty or so episodes by the time it’s done, but I’m already planning the next couple of stories in the Destiny universe.

For the latest episode, or to catch up on the story, go to: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B095XKSZ6Q

Or check out the story wherever you read kindle books.

I also want to point out that my Hearts in Orbit books also take place in the Destiny Universe, though a couple hundred years later in the timeline.

Now, you probably won’t see blarmlings popping up in Destiny: Cloud Fist, but you should know they are there, and will probably figure into a future story.

I just thought you’d like to know.

Steve

Demon’s Gate Update.

I’m the first to admit when I make a mistake…well, maybe not the first...but eventually I concede…most of the time.

Anyway, I thought the reboot of my Demons Gate series would be on track, but I realize now that it probably wasn’t. the covers were too ‘artsy’ and the names too obscure…and sales fell flat.

So, we’re going back to the original titles for the books and I’ve commissioned some new covers.

So, Awakening, Alliance, and Annihilation are now all out-of-print. The new books are the same stories, just repackaged.

And if you haven’t read these stories yet, you can find them here:

There’s No Such Thing as Werewolves – https://books2read.com/u/mYGWQx

The Forsaken Templar – https://books2read.com/u/b6vgWM

Seeds of Immortality – https://books2read.com/u/mvo0wz

Thanks,

Steve

Destiny: Cloud Fist Update.

It’s Wednesday and time for another episode of Destiny: Cloud Fist.

I’m happy to report that there are now 19 episodes up, ready for binge-reading if you haven’t started yet. Check you Kindle device or go to: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/product/B095XKSZ6Q

“What?” You say. “There’s a new episode of What if? today as well.”

Yes! And I am very excited for that, but surely you have time for a little reading, don’t you?

Remember, the first three episodes of Destiny: Cloud Fist are free to read, and it you like it, it’s only pennies per episode after that.

Thanks for stopping by,

Steve

This book is insane

ust a quick update to let you know that my short story, Artificial Insanity, is up for free now through Monday (8/2/21) in Kindle format.

Artificial Insanity

One dark and chaotic night, Eric Johnson must face the possibility that the artificial intelligence he designed for a secret government project might just be insane. And the truth could cost him his life.

A science fiction quick read adventure.

Get your free copy here: https://books2read.com/u/47OEz7

Kindle Vella – A new way to read.

Kindle Vella has launched for readers!

Kindle Vella

Yes, Kindle Vella, Amazon’s newest publishing platform has launched for readers. For months now Amazon has been after us authors to post new content in preparation for this day. How well will it be received, time will tell.

It’s serialized stories with the first three episodes free, after that you pay by the episode with tokens, and Amazon is giving away 200 free tokens right now in the app to get you started, so don’t wait.

You can find Vella in your current Kindle device or app, or at: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella

And the opening of Kindle Vella means that my latest story is also available (Well at least the first 15 chapters…excuse me, episodes). Presenting: Destiny: Cloud Fist.

This is a story I’ve been writing off and on for years, and I’m excited to make it available on Amazon’s latest platform exclusively…for now. There will be regular episodes added, I’m planning on one or two per week depending on demand.

You can find the story by searching for S. C. Mitchell in the Kindle app or by going online here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/product/B095XKSZ6Q

Remember, you can read the first three episodes for free, so what are you waiting for?

And you can give reviews, so let me know how I’m doing.

Have a great day,

Steve