For Lack of Three Little Words – A Tale of Two Whorehouses

A little over a month ago I was asked to play a part in our local theatre production of The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas. I play the Texas Senator that gets caught (literally) with his pants down in the whorehouse, plus a number of other fun and challenging bit parts. Our first show is this coming Thursday.  It has been such an incredible experience working with this wonderful and talented group of thespians.  They made this old man, who hasn’t set foot on a stage in almost 40 years, feel welcome and comfortable.  I just can’t say enough about how great the cast has been.

To prepare for my part, I sat down and watched the movie version of Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, starring Burt Reynolds and Dolly Parton.

 

*****[SPOILER ALERT]*****

I AM ABOUT TO REVEAL THE ENDINGS OF THE MOVIE AND STAGE PLAY.

IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO ATTEND AND WANT TO BE SURPRISED, STOP READING NOW!

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

*****[SPOILER ALERT]*****

 

 

 

At the end of the movie the Sheriff (Burt Reynolds) confronts Miss Mona (Dolly Parton).  Dolly sings her theme song I will always love you, lamenting the fact that they can never be together because she’s a whore and he wants to run for public office. Burt simply responds “I love you.” He picks her up and carries her to his pickup truck and they ride off into the sunset to live happily ever after.

It’s a romance, plain and simple. I write romance, and believe in Happy Ever After. It’s in my soul, and it’s the heart of every romance I write. Happy Ever After happens. You can count on it.

So, imagine my surprise when we get to practicing the end scene in the stage play.  The Sheriff confronts Miss Mona. Instead of her singing I will always love you. He’s just sung She’s a good old girl, a song where he says that he’d like to tell her some things, but she already knows. In the stage play he never says those three precious words “I love you,” and tragically two people, so much in love, part forever.

Up to the ending, the story is essentially the same, but for lack of three little words, the ending is different. The movie is a romance, the stage play is a tragedy. It made me wonder how many times in real life people lose out, not by what we say, but by what we don’t say.

It’s something to think about later, though. Right now I’m thinking about dropping my pants in front of a couple of hundred people this weekend. It should be good for a laugh at least.

Until next time,

Steve

7 thoughts on “For Lack of Three Little Words – A Tale of Two Whorehouses

  1. Steve, I’d be very annoyed by the end of the stage play, but I’m sure I’d love the movie. 🙂 Yes, romance author alert. 🙂

    Best of luck dropping your pants this weekend. LOL Never once thought I’d say those works.

  2. Mitch – This post just put a smile on my face! I may buy some extra tickets just to support the community theatre and their vision of a “not so perfect” world. 🙂 Good luck and I’ll see you soon!

Leave a Reply

