Romance Weekly – #LOVECHATWRITE

Love Write Chat

Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favorite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all….. About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride!

 
If you found me via Katie O’Connor’s wonderful blog ( http://katieoh.blogspot.com/ ) , or you’re just starting your Romance Weekly journey here, welcome. Some probing questions and fun answers lie ahead as you make the rounds.

 
This week’s questions come from Amy Jarecki. You know what to do. Just open the edit box and add your name & blog address after the parson on the bottom of the list. Here are the questions. (Thanks Amy!)

 
1. When did you start writing, and why?

 
It was right after the birth of my first child, so June of 1980. Wow, 34 years just flew by. I remember he was napping and I decided “I’m going to write a book.” It was a beautiful summer day, so I took my old typewriter out to the picnic table, rolled that first clean white sheet of paper into it . . . and stared at the blank page for a very long while.

 
2. What do you like best about writing?

 
I love to watch a story unfold. Many times, especially in the beginning of a new project, I have no idea where the story is going. As I sit, ponder, and daydream, I get to play with what happens next. It’s always great to get one of those ‘Oh, so that’s what happened” moments.

 
3. If you could go on a writing retreat, where would you go and for how long?

 
For an inspiring vacation I would love to go to Europe and tour castles, but for a true writing retreat (where I’d actually get some writing done) you can’t beat a secluded cabin in the north woods and the company of other writers. I spent a great weekend last year with four other writers drinking wine and talking craft. There’s no better inspiration.

 

I hear you out there. Yes, I have spies all over the interwebs. You’re wondering what the other authors of Romance Weekly answered. Start (or continue) the tour by visiting the wonderful Kim Handysides at http://kimhandysides.com/

15 thoughts on “Romance Weekly – #LOVECHATWRITE

  1. I like to think I would have completed at least one manuscript even if God had never invented computers – but I’m afraid it probably wouldn’t have happened! The amount of backspacing I do would use up too many reams of “real” paper!!

Leave a Reply

