Romance Weekly – #LOVECHATWRITE

Do you like to read romance novels? Wouldn’t you like to know more about your favorite authors? Well you came to the right place! Join the writers of Romance Weekly as we go behind the scenes of our books and tell all….. About our writing of course! Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride!

halfway-hidden-imprint

If you found me via Carrie Elks’ wonderful blog, or you’re just starting your Romance Weekly journey here, welcome. Some probing questions and fun answers lie ahead as you make the rounds.

 

 

Jeanne McDonald is the author of this week’s questions:

1. How did you go about choosing the names for your characters?

I wish I knew. Names just kind of come to me when I need them. Occasionally I have to wait a bit, filling in ‘man’ or ‘woman’ in the manuscript, but as the character reveals itself to me, he or she usually tells me their name.

 
2. Where did the inspiration for your current book come from?

Son of Thunder
My current work in progress is the sequel to Son of Thunder, entitled Daughter of Darkness. The inspiration came during the writing of Son of Thunder, while writing the scene where Jord and Meghan are joined by Tyr and Nott to fight Loki’s dust demon. It was just supposed to be a cameo by Nott and Tyr, but grew into a whole separate novel, and the logical next phase of the Heavenly War.

 
3. What methods do you use to ensure you have no plot holes (journal, storyboard, outline, editor, etc.)?

 
I am terrible at this. As a pantser, I have no outline, and no framework to work from during the rough draft, so lots of dead end scenes and hanging sub plots tend to creep in. I need to read, re-read, and edit extensively to tie everything up neatly. I also have a wonderful editor at Soul Mate Publishing.

 

 

I hear you out there. Yes, I have spies all over the interwebs. You’re wondering what the other authors of Romance Weekly answered. Start (or continue) the tour by visiting the wonderful Leslie Hachtel at http://lesliehachtelwriter.wordpress.com

19 thoughts on “Romance Weekly – #LOVECHATWRITE

  1. Looking forward to that sequel, Steve. And you did surprise me with the pantster thing. Always had you pegged for a plotter

  2. Let’s hear it for the pantsers! (Spell check kept making me type painters and panthers, neither of which I am, nor you, I suspect!) I can’t imagine typing man or woman until a character name appeared. But I might try the Nfld equivalently of Buddy and Missus. 😉

  3. I agree that characters can “pick” their own names. I’ve changed the names of some characters part way through a book because I realized it just wasn’t right. Thanks goodness for “find and replace all”!!!!

  4. Thanks for the shout out! I’m usually a plotter, but I’m trying to pants a little bit more. I find it helps my character development. But you’re right, there’s a lot of clean up afterward!

Leave a comment